Pegson In The Present . Com

Living in the Present…Aware of the Future…

14 things I Hate/Love about a Hospital Admission….


136074

Front of JHH Hospital

Note:Ok so I got this idea from TatteredBookWorms blog, where she wrote about the top 1o things she liked about Hospital Admissions in order to give a positive spin to a bad situation. I thought that considering I’m currently in hospital and during this admission I have already experienced the good, the bad and the ugly all in just 10 days…So I thought I would write What I Love and What I hate about hospital but with my more morbid PeGsOn trait you guys have come to know…and beg for more…


nurse-ratched

Nurse Rachet

1.Ignorant/arrogant/obnoxious/small minded Nurses and Doctors – There is nothing worse than being sick in hospital and having that one nurse or doctor  that is a complete twat. Constantly treating you like your some kind of baby. Constantly repeating you should be use to this (being in hospital, having bloods taken etc)… what They need to understand is while we may have had a tone of hospital admissions it doesn’t mean we are use to having a Cannula dodged up or putting up with shocking pain.. They also need to realise we have much experience and generally we take a proactive role in our healthcare and when we say “this dressing isn’t right” or “I can’t breath” or “this is making me sick” you need to listen and not get into that defensive mode because you’re the so called health care professional and I’m the dumb patient. Because in all likely hood most CF’ers are more competent with their heath than most trained professionals. And for that reason this is on my most hated things in Hospital.

PIC_0352

2.Hospital Food- We all know how Much I hate hospital Food from the posts oduring hospital admission. It taste worse than an out of date  microwave’d sushi dinner. It smells rank, and it even sweats….is it alive???. Worst of all is when your plate slides into the centre of the serving tray and you get a half hot and half cold smelly sweaty mystery meat dish that could put even the most fearsome competitors out of action.

3.Water Jug Ladies – I absolutely loathe the concept of the “Water Jug lady”…The Water Jug lady is usually a middle aged still living with their mother woman who has the energy on of a 20 year and collects Sweaters. The “Water Jug Lady” comes in every morning at around 6 am and she won’t quietly sneak into your room trying not to wake you… She will charge in with all Jugs Blazing… flicking the lights on, reefing back the curtain….Making you jump up startled like your about to be the victim of a vicious skinhead gang rape…The ‘Water Jug Lady’ than in an over cheerful singing voice almost proud of her job to be delivering this seedy Jug of Water makes the announcement ‘I’m Here with your fresh tasty Water Jug“….which you reply in a still half asleep voice ” I don’t want one damn it…I want to sleep” . At this point her face drops and she looks like you just stole her favourite Sweater and gave it to St Vinnies!!!

4,Evil Blood collectors –

POLYMER-5655

Ouchy

You get some great ones but than you get some god damn demon worshipping blood sucking pardon the pun ugly arse Blood Collectors. They strut in with their little trolleys of torture tools waving the biggest bloody needle they can find because they are more worried about making their job easier rather than using a small needle to make it less painful for you. After 20 previous draws  from your one good vein. Your left bruised and sore and feeling like an abused wife on Oprah. You than try to make small talk hoping to find some empathy through that thick viscous layer of leather skin but all you get is the evil eye that makes you veins constrict in freight…The blood collector than lines your vein up and thrusts the needle in, like its some quick hook up behind a pub…You feel a horrendous pain in your arm and let fly a few abusive words mid air as the needle passes straight through the vein and into the outer tissue of the arm wall. The Evil demon worshipping blood collector screams out in some foreign ancient tongued language proceeding to lay the blame on you for you’re your arm supposedly twitching and that your vein moves around to much under your skin…..“I’m so sorry demon lady please don’t hurt me”..

5.Nebs– I hate doing nebs in hospital….Give me IV any time because Nebs I can do at home and while in hospital it means a whole lot of cleaning for me to do because I never trust that the nurses are going to clean the mouthpieces and unit and I constantly worry that when it goes off to their secret nurse cave to be sterilised you may have returned someone else’s infected chewed up Antibiotic resistant mouthpiece..

6.Exercise Bike for your room – Your Physio is on your case and your not quite up to going to the gym.. Because your still off colour so the physio drags up this old 1982 model workhorse of an exercise bike that looks more like a mini tractor than an exercise bike. Instead of a nice winding knob to change the pedal resistance it has a series of straps and harnesses that must be tightened…making it resemble a device on the Saw films more so than an exercise bike…Now The real thing I hate is as you pedal the bike it slowly vibrates forward so after ten minutes your half way out the door with your gown flapping.

7. Midnight Drugs – This is terrible, and is probably the thing I hate most about Hospital. When your charted to have Drugs at midnight or early morning so they can get a good Drug Dose reading in the morning for Blood collection..Your sound asleep after just popping a few dozen Temazepam and than your woken to a nurse administering a shot of Ceftaz..than you get to sleep than the machine alarm…than the flush goes through and alarms again by this time your on the net surfing redtube.com and bombed out for the whole day with no ebergy due to lack of sleep..

COMMENT ON YOUR HATES AND LOVES OF HOSPITAL

What I Love about Hospital

1.Good Nurses – I love a good nurse, A nurse that will sit and have a good old Chit chat with you, walk down to get you some decent food from the canteen, go the extra mile just to help make you feel more at ease and Even allow you to have input into how you want your Port-O-Cath dressed. And most importantly when an issue arises they will react promptly get you the best possible care. Unlike the bad nurses that just yell abuse and strut around like royalty.

nap time

Nap Time

2.Sleep – In Hospital I love being able to sleep in as long as I want without feeling guilty about wasting a day. I also love being able to nap whenever I feel the urge….And if I cant sleep I’m free to have as many Temazepam’s that my heart desires or can take..

3.Unlimited piping hot showers — This is a fav past time of the day for me while in hospital. And I love it… Being able to shower for great lengths of time is another huge tick for a hospital admission, there is nothing as good as relaxing under a piping hot shower after sucking on a tobra neb and thinking about Paris Hilton and all the endless possibilities all whilst keeping a firm grip on the lock so that the ‘Water Jug Lady’ doesn’t try to join you.

4.Meds Delivered – Having your meds delivered and never needing to worry about missing a dose is totally awesome, it makes being in hospital for a tune so much more bearable…and if your lucky the nurse that delivers the meds might be an alright looker.

5.Early Morning Exploring – I’m not allowed to leave my room through the day due to cross infection risks and the general amount of sick people in the hospital but If I set my alarm for around 4 am the nurses let me off the chain and ball to explore the hospital and all its nifty nooks and crannies.. The things you come across  like morgues, dirty surgical equipment, the mental ward that has to be guarded ….The best part is being able to ravage the freshly packed vending machine all in the name of finding the perfect tasting bottle of Coke.

First Aid - Aqium Gel

Antibacterial Hand Gel

6.Aqium Hand Gel –I love Aqium Antibacterial hand gel and use it everyday be it at home or in Hospital. It’s great stuff when your out and about and you need to give your hand a good clean, the stuff really helps avoid the unnecessary bugs. So when I’m in hospital I feel closer to home because I’m constantly able to use Aqium Hand Gel every few metres as Aqium hand gel is everywhere around the hospital. Its especially helpful when a patient with a gaping oozing wound of severe multi resistant Golden Staph brushes against you in the lobby. But because I have my hand get I’m like dat ok I will just Hand Gel the Area.

7.Temazepam I love how I get Temazepam by the bucket load in hospital, It really is something I truly enjoy about Hospital…Nothing like peacefully drifting off to sleep with out a care in the world…..It sucks though because once I’m discharged they won’t write me a script.

Overall the majority of people in the hospital system are awesome and most will go out of there way to help y,, you come across a few with a bug up there arse who are just out to cause grief..

COMMENT ON YOUR HATES AND LOVES OF HOSPITAL

UPDATE ON HOSPITAL CRUSH: Right now I have a Crush on one of the youngish (28 yrs) resident Doctors… so I better style my hair with Aqium hand gel since the good hair stuff is at home and making myself smell nice with a splash of old IV Tobra cologne can’t be a bad thing, can it lol. Maybe I can ask her on a date and we share a Quality Mystery meat hospital meal………

PeGsOn

pegson1986@homail.com / twitter.com/pegson / facebook.com/arronpegg / youtube.com/pegson123

November 11, 2009 - Posted by | All Posts, Daily Rants, Hospital Stays | , , , ,

6 Comments »

  1. I love the fact that when I’m in the hospital, I don’t have to wake up to do the 5 a.m. IV hook-up; they do it for me. When I get home, I’m the one who’s up at 5 a.m. with one eye open trying to hook-up this stupid IV.
    I hate it when I’m in the hospital and the doctor orders nebulizer treatments every 4 hours, and the respiratory therapist thinks its ok to wake me up at 2 a.m. for a treatment…LET ME SLEEP!!!

    Comment by Amanda | November 11, 2009 | Reply

    • arh your poor thing….every 4 hours jeez….have you got ne other my friend…can i added them at the bottom of my post?

      Comment by pegson123 | November 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. I love the small chat i have with the pysio while they are bashing me up, all about the birds and the bees and such

    Comment by Simo | November 12, 2009 | Reply

    • haha is she good lookin

      Comment by pegson123 | November 12, 2009 | Reply

  3. Hey Aaron, I like you attend JHH.
    I totally agree with all of the above mentioned for hates… don’t forget the cleaning ladies when they come in early morning also and wake you up. Midnight drugs I hate and somehow they always schedule midnight BSL checks. Y? I dont do it at night at home. Worst of all I never sleep properly there and although I am better when I leave I am so sleep deprived.
    On the better sides of things…. a good nurse, hot showers and not having to worry about when you have this or that etc is great as it is delivered to you.

    Comment by Ailsa | November 12, 2009 | Reply

  4. My son has Cf (he’s 7 today) and your love/hate’s in hossie were spot on!!!! Complete snap to hossie here in the UK!!! One thing I would add – nurses mucking up the meds then getting cross when you stop them adminstering them, then not apologising when they realise! AND (so that’s 2 things) the plastic aprons they wear before entering each cubicle – the last time we were in, the dispenser was located next to the parent bed!!! With 10 beds per dispenser – we were woken between 60 – 120 times a night!!! Anyway, keep blogging xxx Oakleycooke

    Comment by oakleycooke | July 14, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

